Forum

Go-to Resources for...

Notifications
Clear all

Go-to Resources for the English Classroom?

2 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hi all! I am an 8th grade English teacher, and am wondering what resources from this extensive catalogue have worked particularly well in the English classroom. I am planning to implement story dice soon, as well as try a Resource Rumble and Image Battle Royale activity.

Any specific suggestions for activities would be much appreciated!

2 Answers

Hey Crosby! John here. Thanks so much for joining the site and I sincerely appreciate your time and enthusiasm. Before making the switch to work for the company full time, I spent 12 years as an English teacher --  so you are definitely speaking my language. I apologize for the delay as I've been traveling out of town to help facilitate PDs with a string of events, and am only just now getting back to my usual routine.

Story Dice are an absolute win for non-literal thinking. Love love love Resource Rumble for review, and the Image Battle Royale is a fantastic choice for deeper meaning. Excellent choices all around here for starters!

Some other personal favorites: I think your students will GEEK OUT over Traps & Treasures (it's an excellent technique for close reading and note taking), as well as the Poker Chip Chase collection (also great for close reading).

For reviews: your students might really enjoy Caveman Grammar and the Superstar Sentence Smackdown. IN place of daily quizzes, I'd definitely give Clothespin Bumper Cars a shot. And to break up a standard lecture driven class into a more game-like feel, you might even give Text Quest a shot. Lots of options for sure, and I'm very happy to offer whatever support or feedback we can to help you out along the way!